11 EU States Cited For Birds Directive

The European Commission is taking Germany, Austria and Poland to the European Court of Justice for failure to comply with the Birds Directive. The three countries have failed to designate sufficient Special Protection Areas.

Eight countries that joined the EU in 2004 will also receive warnings for failure to comply with the Directive. Of the states that joined in 2004, only Estonia is currently in compliance.

Read more about the Commission’s actions.

Share the birds, share the love!
This entry was posted in Aside, Europe, Law. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *